The Other Things

When training is in full swing, it is hard to fit in some of the other things I really enjoy doing because they happen to be other sports that require energy and time that I cannot spare. However, I am still on hold for any real ski training due to an unknown illness so I have been embracing the coach’s/doctor’s instruction to do some form of light activity every day. Normally, you would think if I can only do a little activity every day then I would choose to do skiing (which I have been for the most part). However, the last few days I have decided to do the other fun things I really enjoy: rock climbing, beach volleyball, and surfing.

hnag 5
Working on the hang 5!
yeah surf
Suns out tongues out :p
IMG_8578
Waves
IMG_8599
2 out of the 5 nets that were set up.
IMG_4935
My dad belaying Mike as he leads the way in Rumney.
IMG_4902
The Jimmy Cliffs in Rumney are awesome! 
IMG_8540
Pretty views at the top of the Jimmy Cliffs.
IMG_8589
I joined CSU for a roll and strength.

I reached a point where I needed to take a step back from thinking about when I am going to be able to train again and just have fun…no heart rate monitor, no logging the hours, no training plan, just pure enjoyment of the outdoors and good company! I have cherished the time I have spent with my close friends and family over the past week that I normally don’t get to.

IMG_8600
Sister time ❤
IMG_8601
Taking Roni’s new puppy out for a walk.
IMG_8492
Sunset puppy walk along the pond.
IMG_4810
Ice skating with Roni and Olja.
IMG_1739
Beach volleyball with Katie.
IMG_8595
Surfing with Lewis, Emily, and Tory.
IMG_8574
Surfing with my dad 🙂
IMG_8591
Candle light dinner with my parents.

Now after my mental vacation, I am ready to do what I can to get me back to training as soon as possible!

-JKern

 

One thought on “The Other Things

  1. Liebe Julia, habe Deine Post mit viel Freude gelesen. Ich denke, jetzt bist Du “uebern Berg” und kannst bald wieder mit dem Skitraining beginnen. Wenn man weiss, dass das Leben nicht nur aus Leistung besteht, wird alles leichter und der Erfolg kommt auch. Das wuenscht dir von Herzen Deine Oma “”

    Like

Leave a Reply

