All the Feels.

Contrary to the negative connotation that the word “emotion” carries, I believe emotion is a good thing. Bryan Fish (my U.S. Ski Development coach) once said, “regardless of what you decide to pursue, it should evoke emotion“. His presentation was eye opening to me because it was spot on! Often times people see emotion as a weakness, but I see it as a strength. Tying into my last blog, you cannot go beyond your limits without emotion; you need passion, happiness, anger, motivation, or what ever fires you up and gets you going. Of course, there is a time and a place to display emotion and every emotion shouldn’t always be displayed publicly, but one should feel it.

In the early season last year, I fell into the hole of being indifferent about what happened in my races and training in order to protect myself from disappointment. But guess what…that doesn’t lead to success. This time I am not letting that happen. I am channeling all of my emotion into motivation for when I am able train again.

I am fortunate enough to have an awesome team, incredible coaches, and very a loving and supportive family around who keep me happy. While I have not been training, I have kept myself busy by hanging out with friends and helping coach at a free clinic our team put on.

DSC_8646
Going through the obstacle course with the kids (Photo: Coach Pat).
DSC_8635
Andy helping a kid conquer the wall.
DSC_8693
Bounding time!
DSC_8863
Jessie showing the kids how to jump with good form.
DSC_8900
Q & A and video time.
DSC_8899
They had some good questions!
DSC_8685
Anne and I racing through the monkey bars.
IMG_8475
Gabe and I getting ready to surprise Anne with a birthday cake I made!
IMG_8473
Date night with Jessie and Wade 🙂
IMG_8470
Making pizza the Hannah Halvorsen style 🙂
IMG_8468
Yum, yum, yum!
IMG_8459
Watching my mom play beach volleyball.
IMG_8455
Movie night in the barn at the Ogdens! (Movie: Break Away)
IMG_8456
Trying out the new whip (just kidding)!

 

IMG_8479
Visiting my dad at work in the city!

Always remember to enjoy the little things!

-JKern

 

One thought on “All the Feels.

  1. “Enjoy the little things” so war ich ueber 70 Jahre lang gluecklich. Gelernt habe ich es von meiner Oma. Viilleicht hilft es Dir auch. Deine alte Oma

    Like

Leave a Reply

